Home PageResourcesNatural Dyes Information

Natural Dyes Information

Suppliers of Natural Dyes and Information

Aurora Silk                  http://www.aurorasilk.com/                503.286.4149
Sells kits, dyes, dye extracts and mordants

Botanical Colors         http://botanicalcolors.com/
Several how-to articles and recipes; sells natural dyes and dyeing supplies

Dharma Trading          http://www.dharmatrading.com/dyes/natural-dyes-from-plants-and-insects.html                (800) 542-5227
Sells natural dyes from plants and insects and related supplies

Earth Guild                 http://www.earthguild.com/products/riff/rnatdye.htm           800.327.8448
General Instructions for dyeing with wool; natural dyes color chart; sells natural dyestuffs, mordants, accessories, starter sets, and books

Earthues Natural Dye Company        http://earthues.com     206.781.3184
Sells natural dye kits, raw materials, extracts, mordants and assists, and books81-3184, (206) info@earthues.com           Michele Wipplinger

Hillcreek Fiber Studio
Sells natural dyes, dyeing agents, mordants and dye assists, natural dye extracts, and dye kits; resources for madder root on cotton and wool, and dyeing with pokeberry, include a recipe; offers dyeing workshops
CarolLeigh@HillcreekFiberStudio.com          Carol Leigh Brack-Kaiser

Maiwa                         http://www.maiwa.com/home/supply/index.html      604.669.3939
14-page pdf eBook defining several natural dyes with instructions on how to use them; sells natural dyes, mordants, additives, resist, thickeners, fabric dyes; maiwa@maiwa.com

Paradise Fibers            http://www.paradisefibers.com/dye.html       888.320.7746
Sells natural dyes and supplies

Renaissance Dyeing (France)              www.renaissancedyeing.com/en/
Sells plant-dyed yarn and threads, dye extracts and kits       Andie Luijk

Table Rock Llamas Fiber Art Studio  http://tablerockllamas.com/table-rock-llamas/ 866.495.7747
Sells natural dyes, mordants and assists, instructions

Wild Colours               www.wildcolours.co.uk/
Extensive resource and information list on all aspects of dyeing; sells dye plant seeds, natural dyes, mordants, dye extracts, and books; wide variety of lectures available to book: www.teresinharoberts.co.uk/
info@wildcolours.co.uk          Teresinha Roberts

The Woolery   http://www.woolery.com/store/pc/Dyeing-c17.htm  800.441.9665
Sells natural dyes, mordants, and dye assists

General Information

Asian Textile Studies           www.asiantextilestudies.com
Website aimed at people with a serious interest in traditional hand-woven textiles (fibers, natural dyes, techniques, and origins and history) from Asia, especially those from Eastern Indonesia. Written by David and Sue Richardson.

Hand/Eye Magazine: World Craft Culture     http://handeyemagazine.com/category/terms/textile/natural-dyes
Extensive collection of in depth articles on natural dyes with a global cultural perspective

Home Dyeing with Natural Dyes by Margaret S. Furry and Bess M. Viemont
http://www.cs.arizona.edu/patterns/weaving/monographs/fms_dye.pdf
Scan of original 1935 book, downloadable pdf via the University of Arizona Online Digital Archive

Indigo Island Indigo                www.seaislandindigo.net/
Extensive information on the history of growing indigo and natural dyeing in the United States; sells indigo; offers indigo dyeing workshops.
indigogrower@gmail.com        Donna Hardy

Modern Farmer           http://modernfarmer.com/2013/10/natural-dyes/
General information about natural dyes

Paula Burch’s All about Hand Dyeing           www.pburch.net/dyeing/naturaldyes.shtml
General information and instructions for dyeing with a variety of dyes and materials

Pioneer Thinking         http://pioneerthinking.com/crafts/natural-dyes
General Information about dyes and fixatives; List of Plant Materials for Dyes

Practical Action, Schumacter Centre for Technology and Development
Detailed information and how-to on all aspects of natural dyes and dyeing technique: downloadable pdf

Prairie Fibers   Surface Design           http://www.prairiefibers.com/Dyeing%20Notes.htm
Extensive natural dyeing notes, how-to, techniques, dye plant color list, and glossary

Threads of Peru          http://threadsofperu.com/natural-dyes/
Descriptions and photographs of natural dyes materials used in traditional Peruvian textiles

Turkey Red Journal    www.turkeyredjournal.com
A newsletter “devoted to education and the furtherance of the use of natural dyes”

US Forest Service       http://www.fs.fed.us/wildflowers/ethnobotany/dyes.shtml
Detailed information about native plant dyes; mordant chart; chart of commonly used plants by Native Americans with photographs and full descriptions; chart of common plants used for dyes and resulting colors

Classes and Workshops

John C. Campbell Folk School           www.folkschool.org/
Workshops in natural dyeing

Lillstreet Art Center   http://lillstreet.com/;   http://lillstreet.com/blog/textiles/
Offers dyeing workshops, including shibori, and open studio space

John Marshall        http://www.johnmarshall.to/
Specialist in Japanese katazome and tsutsugaki, as well as indigo dyeing. Offers classes, workshops, trunk shows, supplies, and dvds.

Natural Dye Workshops        http://naturaldyeworkshop.com/ 510.527.3432
Natural dye workshops with Yoshiko Wada and Michel Garcia; sells natural dye DVDS;
yoshiko@yoshikowada.com; ndw@shibori.org         Yoshiko Iwamoto Wada

Ricketts Indigo         http://www.rickettsindigo.com/
Rowland and Chinami are indigo specialists offering classes and workshops, indigo seeds, textiles, and information about growing and dyeing with indigo.

Slow Fiber Studios      http://slowfiberstudios.com/natural-dye-workshops/
Natural dye workshops with Michel Garcia
ndw@shibori.org        Michel Garcia

Textile Arts Center, New York http://www.ssreg.com/textileartscenter/classes/
Natural dyeing, shibori classes

Permacouture Institute           www.permacouture.org/
“Hands-on grassroots projects to support sustainability and textiles.” Includes research in sustainable plant-based dyes. Seeds to Sew and Fiber and Dye Mapping projects: identifies and aids textile dye plants’ survival; Dinners to Dye For: dye workshops and local harvest dinners; Living and Dyeing project: offers workshops to schools and community garden teachers in textiles and natural dyes
info@permacouture.org; sasha@permacouture.org    Sasha Duerr

Wild Craft Studio School        http://wildcraftstudioschool.com/
Natural Dye Classes   info@wildcraftstudioschool.com

Blogs

Etsy Blog        http://www.etsy.com/blog/en/2008/how-to-make-natural-dye-with-the-etsy-labs/
How-to video dyeing with cabbage, onions, turmeric and fabric or yarn; dye recipe and dyeing tips

Folk Fibers                  http://www.folkfibers.com/blogs/news/tagged/natural-dyes
Blog from Folk Fibers website; dyeing with onion skins, pomegranates, wild mushrooms, oranges; how-to and recipe

Free People                 http://blog.freepeople.com/2012/11/diy-natural-dyes-2/
Blog from the Free People Women’s Boho Clothing and Bohemian website; examples of which household fruits and vegetables create various colors

Naturally Dyeing        http://naturallydyeing.blogspot.com
Blog about personal experiences and discovery with natural dyes, some how-to

Maia Spins                  http://maiaspins.typepad.com/maiaspins/natural_dyes/
Blog about personal experiences dyeing yarn, primarily

Dyeing with Natural Dyes     www.riihivilla.blogspot.com/
Personal blog with extensive resources on natural dyeing with a broad spectrum of plants and natural fibers. Bilingual: Finnish and English

Wool–Tribulations of Handspinning and Herbal Dyeing      www.wooltribulations.blogspot.com
Personal blog with extensive resources on growing dyes and dyeing yarn.

FREE Shipping on all U.S. purchases over $50.00. Select option at check out.